Guest Reviews


“Had a Wonderful Week”

We have all had a wonderful week here helped by fantastic weather. Beautiful cottage and very safe for our energetic 18 month old. Many thanks.

Ros, Alison, Rachel and little Ezreya  (Hampshire)

[Stayed 14th to 20th September 2019]

_______________________________________________________

“Thank You for making our holiday so special”

Thank you Roger and Lesley for making our holiday so special. What a lovely cottage you have. Thanks for the welcome pack. We had a lovely time and a fantastic break. Once again thank you.

John and Marlene (Boston, Lincolnshire)

[Stayed 6th to 13th September 2019]

________________________________________________________

“Our Second Visit”

Thanks to Roger and Lesley for making our anniversary so special on our second visit here. Enjoyed everything in spite of the poor weather. Looking forward to visiting again.

Malcolm and Pamela Brown  (Headon on the Wall, Northumberland)

[Stayed 30th august to 6th September]

________________________________________________________”Fantastic”

We’ve had a wonderful time. Thanks for the welcome pack and tourism advice. We had 7 lovely sunny days!

Sue and Malcolm Brand  (Whaley Bridge)

[Stayed 23rd to 30th August 2019]

________________________________________________________”Excellent Accommodation”

Excellent accommodation and hospitality. We have enjoyed our stay.

Ian & Jill Heys  (Leighton Buzzard)

[Stayed 2nd August to 9th August 2019]

______________________________________________________

“What a Wonderful Cottage”

What a wonderful cottage with such fantastic views. Keep and eye out for the barn owl flying past the window in the evening. We recommend the Dog Inn for food [ http://www.thedoginnlongridge.co.uk/ ]  and Puddleducks Teashop at Dunsop Bridge [ http://www.puddleduckscafe.co.uk/ ] Also, if it’s your kind of thing The Singing Ringing Tree is worth a small detour.https://www.visitlancashire.com/things-to-do/singing-ringing-tree-panopticon-p66560 

Thank you for a fabulous time.

Lee, Tony and Kyle  (Cheltenham and Gloucester)

[Stayed 26th July to 2nd August 2019]

________________________________________________________”This Cottage is Amazing”

Our boys really appreciated their ‘lad pad’ for some space. The surroundings and views are exceptional. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks to you both.

Davey, Lee, David and Duncan  (The Black Isle, Inverness, Highlands)

[Stayed 12th to 19th July 2019]

______________________________________________________

“Thank you for the superb welcome pack and warm welcome”

We have had a wonderful stay at Meadow Cottage. Lovely cottage with amazing views. We have enjoyed the walking to Chipping, Ribchester and surrounding areas. Whalley Abbey and Clitheroe were also good to visit. Thank you Lesley and Roger for the superb welcome pack and a warm welcome – much appreciated.

Linda & Malcolm  (Kent)

[Stayed 5th to 12th July]______________________________________________________

“Five Stars”

Beautiful cottage, stunning views, very pleasant and helpful hosts – FIVE STARS!

Liz and Alan Elliott (Carshalton, Surrey)

[Stayed 28th June to 5th July 2019]

______________________________________________________

“What a Beautiful Cottage”

What a beautiful cottage, we had a lovely stay. A big thank you to Roger & Lesley for a lovely welcome and meeting their two lovely grandsons. The weather could have been better – but still nice to be in the cottage.

Jim and Pam Barnes (Hull, East Yorks)

Stayed 21st June to 28th June

__________________________________________________

“It’s Just a Thoroughly Nice Place to Be”

A beautiful holiday cottage with equally fine views, scenery and sunsets. Accommodation could not be faulted in any way! It’s just a thoroughly nice place to be!  Thank You.

David & Janet Beard  (South Lincs)

[Stayed 14th to 21st June 2019_____________________________________________________________________
“Fantastic Cottage – Generous Welcome”

Amazing sunsets and loved the wildlife. Look out for the stoat family outside the kitchen window.

Janet & Peter  (North Lincs)

[Stayed 7th to 14th June]________________________________________________

“Would Love to Come Again”

Have had a lovely stay in your beautiful cottage. Thank you for being such helpful and generous hosts. Would love to come again and do some walking.

Phyllis, John, Kay and Mike  (East Yorks)

[Stayed 31st May to 7th June]________________________________________________________________

“Great Home from Home”

Lovely cottage and a great home from home. The kids enjoyed their own room. Big thank you to Roger and Lesley.

Samantha, Megan, Carole and Kevin (Barnsley – S.Yorks)

[Stayed 24th to 31st May 2019]

________________________________________________________

“What a Gem of a Find – Perfect in Every Way”

Beautiful Cottage with panoramic views. We were blessed with good weather so the sunsets were magnificent. Perfect in every way. Thank you to Roger & Lesley for being such kind, helpful and generous hosts.

Alan, Nan & Linda Thompson (Scarborough, N. Yorks)

Stayed 17th May to 24th May 2019

___________________________________________________

“A Great Stay & We Will Return”

A great stay and we will return. Thanks to Roger & Lesley for all their help and advice.

David & Grace Guy (Jersey)

[Stayed 10th – 17th May 2019]

__________________________________________

“Wonderful Stay – We Will Definitely be Back”

We had a wonderful stay at Meadow Cottage. Well-equipped, beautifully appointed and with a view to die for! Thanks for making us so welcome, you are excellent hosts. We particularly loved the food and beer (Timothy Taylors) at The Derby Arms [ https://derbyarmslongridge.co.uk/ and breakfast at Tayahs [https://tayahs-cafe.business.site/

Beacon Fell Country Park https://www.visitlancashire.com/things-to-do/beacon-fell-country-park-p1730 and the Nick O’ Pendle are well worth a visit for the 360 degree views. The RSPB at Leighton Moss is also a great spot for bird watching [ https://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves-and-events/reserves-a-z/leighton-moss/  We will definitely be back

Steve & Gill (Essex)

[Stayed 3rd May to 10th May 2019]

_______________________________________________________

“Lovely Cottage with Amazing Views” *****

Our hosts, Roger & Lesley were on hand when needed and offered great suggestions for days out. Thanks for a wonderful and peaceful week.

Paul & Doreen  (Porchester, Hants) 

[Stayed 26th April to 3rd May 2019]


“Lovely Holiday Home”  *****

Everything we required. Stunning Views. Roger & Lesley are great hosts. Enjoyed walks – J.R. Tolkein Trail in Hurst Green and The Pendle Witch Trail.  [ https://www.visitlancashire.com/things-to-do/pendle-witch-trail-lancaster-to-pendle-p51630

https://www.visitlancashire.com/things-to-do/the-tolkien-trail-in-the-footsteps-of-j-r-r-tolkien-p583810

https://www.shireburnarmshotel.co.uk/out-and-about/a-guide-to-the-tolkien-trail/

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g6755155-d9865533-Reviews-Tolkien_Trail-Hurst_Green_Lancashire_England.html

Gill, John & Beth (Liverpool) 

[Stayed 12th April to 18th April 2019]


“Had an Amazing Week !”  *****

Perfect weather, perfect surroundings and the perfect cottage in which to enjoy it. Roger and Lesley have been fantastic – so helpful and thoughtful. We will be back next year. (Now already re-booked for Xmas and New Year 2020)

Joanne & Stuart  (Bury, Lancs.) 

[Stayed 5th April to 12th April 2019]


“Truly Enjoyable Stay”  *****

Looking forward to coming back in August 2019 for our 45th wedding anniversary. Thanks to Roger & Lesley for their wonderful hospitality.

Malcolm & Pamela (Northumberland)

[Stayed 29th March to 5th April 2019]


“Faultless! Like the many previous 5* reviews the accommodation was stunning and the owners a delight.”  *****

No hesitation in recommending this as a holiday destination with it’s panoramic views. Hope to return someday.

Mr & Mrs A. Davison  (Perth & Kinross)     [Stayed 9th – 16th March 2019]


“We loved our stay at the Meadow cottage.” *****

The panoramic view is awesome, even in wintertime! Like the pictures show on the website the cottage is well equipped. Everything was very clean too. Roger and Lesley are very nice hosts, they give us a nice welcome. Roger was a great help for planning our excursions; we especially liked the roads true the forest of Bowland. As foodlovers themself they known very good addresses for restaurants, pubs, afternoon teas,… in the neighborhood and also during the excursions. Roger and Lesley understood their customers needs very well.

Mr & Mrs Chris Verheyen  (Belgium)  [Stayed 2nd – 9th March 2019]


“Perfect in Every Way”  *****

A colleague and I stayed at Meadow Cottage for 6 weeks as we were working nearby. It has to be said I was slightly dreading 6 weeks in January away from home but Meadow Cottage was absolutely perfect. The house is superbly equipped; literally everything you could ask for. Fantastic kitchen and 2 lovely bathrooms. Do note that bedroom 2 is accessible only through a separate entrance. Comfy beds and super soft towels make the stay gorgeous. The log burning fire made a perfect welcome home. The views from the cottage are fantastic and it’s a perfect spot. Lovely pubs are nearby and Longridge offers lots of options. Roger and Lesley couldn’t do enough for us. Any problem we had was sorted out within the day and they were on hand with advice and help at every moment. Personally, I wouldn’t hesitate to return. If in doubt – book it!

Christine and Richard –  (London)  – [Stayed 11th January to 2nd March]

“A Lovely Place to Stay” – *****

which we enjoyed very much. We were very well looked after by our hosts. Fantastic views, cottage & welcome pack superb. Love to come back.

Sue & David : Judy & Michael  –  (Wirral)  –  [Stayed 28.12.18 – 03.01.19]


“Outstanding in Every Way” – *****

Amazing views and wonderful hosts

Lisa & Andy – (Greater Manchester) – [Stayed 22.12.18 – 29.12.18]


“Amazing Stay once again” – *****

For a further 3 weeks. Fantastic hosts who made us feel very welcome in their beautiful cottage.

Chris & Janice – (Lancashire)  –  [Stayed 23.11.18 – 14.12.18]


“An absolutely stunning cottage, in a beautiful location.”  –  *****

The view was amazing and cottage has been done to an extremely high standard, the owners were lovely and they have really thought of everything. Lots of nice walks around to do, and Longridge was only a couple of minutes drive with a good selections of places to eat and some shops. Can’t recommend this place enough.

Miss O’callaghan,  (Chester)  [Stayed 16th – 19th November 2018]


“The cottage was excellently furnished and met all our needs as a couple with everything on one level.”  –  *****

The detailed descriptions of the cottage and accompanying photos clearly showed the layout of the cottage and all the facilities that were provided. The views across the fells were fantastic and the hosts were very helpful in providing detailed information about places to go, where to eat and various car drives in the local area. This is a brilliant locality for outstanding scenery and places to walk.

 
Mr & Mrs G. Mines, (Worthing)  [Stayed  9th – 16th November 2018]


“Fantastic Stay”  –  *****

Had a fantastic stay, batteries fully recharged after a relaxing stay in superb accommodation with stunning views – well done – we recommend and will be back.

Noel and Lizzi – (Essex)  –  [Stayed 2nd to 5th November]


“An Amazing Cottage”  –  *****

Fabulous cottage with stunning views. We did not want to leave this cottage & views, lots of home comforts, lots of places to eat and visit locally. Roger and Lesley are fantastic hosts. Nothing is to much trouble. We enjoyed our stay at Meadow Cottage whilst renovation work being carried out in our own home. Carry on the good work Roger & Lesley – you have an amazing cottage. 

Chris & Janice  (Lancashire) – [Stayed 26th October to 2nd November]


“We’ll Be Back”  –  *****

Sumptuous accommodation and most attentive hosts. Our teenage daughters particularly enjoyed their separate living/sleeping quarters. Lots of walks in the area: Jeffrey Hill and Pendle Hill were great hits. Wonderful lunch and friendly staff at the Barley Mow Inn, Barley, post walk. Gawthorpe Hall in Burnley was also very interesting with enthusiastic but not overwhelming National Trust guides.  FABULOUS HOLIDAY & SPECTACULAR VIEWS; WE’LL BE BACK  – 

Penelope & David and 2 teenage daughters – (Hampshire)

[Stayed 20th to 26th October 2018] 


“Perfect Cosy Getaway With Amazing Views” –  *****

Would strongly recommend this property to all, the feeling you have when staying here is that you are secluded on a hill top. As seen in the photos the large windows have superb views that look out across fields and small villages. (We recommend bringing binoculars for the animals.) At the same time, local amenities are a short walk away.

Upon our arrival we were greeted with a small selection of goodies which were greatly appreciated, especially after arriving there at 9pm. The property itself fit the luxurious description, the log fire was perfect for late afternoons and warmed the property in no time. The wet-room bathroom was a nice surprise and the walk in shower was the perfect thing to wake you up on a morning. The whole property was clean and presented to an extremely high standard.
With the help of Roger and Lesley we had no trouble filling our time with days out and visiting local cafes/restaurants, we even had days out to Blackpool & the Trafford Centre. They were VERY accommodating of our three year old, providing him with a toy digger to play on for when we stayed around the property. They also provided a fold out bed to allow him to stay in our room with us, (as the second bedroom is adjacent to the main property and would not have been suitable). We cannot thank you enough for ensuring our stay was memorable & enjoyable, hope to be back soon.

Kimberley, Lewis and Freddie – (Co. Durham)

[Stayed 12th -19th September 2018]


“We Will Be Back Soon”

“We stayed for 2 weeks in August and had a totally relaxing time. Meadow Cottage is furnished to a high luxury standard and is spotlessly clean. The sunsets and views from the rear deck are absolutely amazing. We were surprised by just how many good restaurants and pubs there were in the area. Great hosts and nothing too much trouble. We will be back soon” – Rob & Andy  (Dorset)  –  [Stayed 10th – 24th August 2018]


“Immaculately Clean”

“Stunning views, top class fittings and furnishings, very comfortable stay, perfect location for choice of restaurants, immaculately clean and lovely welcome pack. Definitely coming back next year.” 

John & Kath – (Cheshire)  –    [Stayed 24th – 31st August 2018]